Beauty Bite: 7 LIT AF Highlighting Hacks!

Who else is addicted to highlighter?!?! I own a variety of products that to keep my glow game LIT AF! I love highlighting hacks because they take my highlight to a new level…  so naturally I must share with you all because I love you all and am obsessed with keeping my A Gang glamorous! Side note: if you are reading/following my  blog and/or subscribed to my YouTube channel you’re apart of the A Gang. You’re welcome xoxo

Hack 1 Prime to Glow: Add a glow to your favorite primer to get the glow from within look. The technique is to mix a liquid highlighter (or event a loose pigment) with your favorite primer or you can try a primer that is a radiance formula (aka they put the highlight in for you). My current favorite radiant primer is by Smashbox which you can buy here ; I like to even wear it alone on a minimal day and it is also great for photography makeup.

Hack 2 Foundation Glow Bomb: Mixing a liquid highlighter into my foundation to give a glow from within. The NYX Liquid Highlighter is so affordable and perfect shade range for all skin tone Check it out my tutorial when I use this hack here

Hack 3 Lit Up Moisturizer: I add a little bit of pigment to a moisturizer for the days I go without makeup. You can also scrap a little highlighter out of the pan and sprinkle it into a moisturizer too. I love to do this with lotion so I achieve a healthy glow. I usually use the Mel

Hack 4 Glow Intensifying Facial Mist: If you want to amp up your setting spray then add pigment to it. I have a mixture of 3 pigments ranging from rose golds to golds in MAC Fix +, shake to mix, and spray after applying my makeup.

Hack 5 Oil + Highlighter = Dewy Amp Up: This is my latest discovery and boy does it enhance the skin. After my foundation is complete I add 2 drops of my Smashbox Primer Oil to beauty blender and dab it on my cheekbones. I go over it with my powder highlighter, then melt it into the skin with the same beauty blender and lastly add one highlighter to amp it up. By the way you can do this to pop you collar bones and shoulders which is amazing when you wear off-the-shoulder tops.

Hack 6 Shoulder Highlight: A body glow in my opinion is equally important as blending your foundation to your neck. I like to use a fluffy fan brush and dust the high points of my shoulders, collar bones, and even boobs.

Bonus Tip! I always melt the highlighter into the skin with a beauty blender! This blending technique will ALWAYS leave your highlighter flawless and avoid the streaky look. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Check out my favorite highlighters here. P.S. for these formulas listed there is a shade perfect for every skin tone, but the shade I use will be in parenthesis.

  1. Carli Bybel Palette (this is an amazing value to get both shadows and highlighters)
  2. Laura Mercier Face Illuminator (Addiction)
  3. Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer Radiance
  4. Smashbox Highlighter palette
  5. Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick (Bronze)
  6. NYX Born to Glow Liquid highlighter (Gleam & Sun Goddess)
  7. MAC Cream Color Base ” Hush”
  8. Smashbox Primer Oil
  9. Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector (Champange Pop)

 

Leave a Reply

