L’oreal La Palette Nude2 {review and swatches on dark skin}

Drug store makeup companies have literally STEPPED the game completely up! Well FI-NA-LLY!

20150610_143939t_wm

I usually wear a mixture of high-end and drug store makeup, well mostly drug store lipstick, so I’m happy to see palettes start hit the scene. I never purchased the drug store palettes before and I guess it’s because I have high end palettes from both Smashbox and Urban Decay; therefore never really gave it a thought to try a drug store palette…. but that changed. When I saw the L’oreal palette the total appearance of the palette caught my eye. Sometimes the quads from drug store makeup brands look, well, cheesey, and the others that look nice I just wonder if they will look good on my skin tone. I’m always cautious in purchasing ANY palette, let alone a drug store since I can’t swatch it in store, because I don’t want them to look ashy or overall unflattering for my skin tone. So it took an hour of walking around Target to convince me to take a risk and try the palette. The Palette was $16 USD for me in Target, I’ve seen on other blogs that it being priced at around $20 USD. So here’s a look at the palette below!

20150610_143913t_wm

So the palette has 10 colors. These are all rosey, cool tones, so yes it reminds me of the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. I like to think of the selection of these colors in the palette as an extension of the UD Naked 3 Palette, not a dupe per say.  There are 4 shimmer colors and 6 mattes. I love the fact that the shimmers are flaky at all. The over all consistency & formula of the shadows are perfect, they blend easily and the pigmentation is decent. If you want to the color to sit more strongly on your eye I suggest not only a primer, but also a dense brush for application.

20150610_181324t_wm 20150610_181736t_wm

 

Colors 1 through 5 on my hand without primer.

20150610_181725t_wm20150610_181747t_wm

Colors 6 through 10 on my hand without primer.

Tell me, have you tried any drug store palettes? If so, which is your favorite?!?! I hope you’re as excited as I am to see what else is next for drug store makeup as we see that fabulous makeup doesn’t have to cost a fortune nowadays. If you would like to get the palette yourself, check it out here.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to see my beauty and fashion finds first @lipstickandanissa!

See you soon glamazons!

xoxo

 

3 thoughts on “L’oreal La Palette Nude2 {review and swatches on dark skin}

  1. Pingback: Mauve Grunge Makeup with L’Oreal La Palette Nude 2 | Lipstick and Anissa

Leave a Reply

